Induction Training

Induction Training

All staff new to care work must successfully complete a five day training course to ensure they understand the needs and expectations of the service user; how to promote independence; their right to dignity, respect, individuality and choice. Care workers will also know and understand their responsibility for working competently within the workforce.

This training incorporates the following Care Certificate Standards:

STANDARD 1 – Understand Your Role.

  • Understand their own role.
  • Work in ways that have been agreed with their employer.
  • Understand working relationships in health and social care.
  • Work in partnership with others.


STANDARD 2 – Your Personal Development.

  • Agree a personal development plan.
  • Develop their knowledge, skills and understanding.


STANDARD 3 – Duty of Care

  • Understand how duty of care contributes to safe practice.
  • Understand the support available for addressing dilemmas that may arise about duty of care.
  • Deal with Comments and complaints.
  • Deal with Incidents, errors and near misses.
  • Deal with confrontation and difficult situations.


STANDARD 4 – Equality and Diversity

  • Understand the importance of equality and inclusion.
  • Work in an inclusive way.
  • Access information, advice and support about diversity, equality and inclusion.


STANDARD 5 – Work in a person centred way

  • Understand person centred values.
  • Understand working in a person centred way.
  • Demonstrate awareness of the individuals immediate environment and make changes to address factors that may be causing discomfort or distress.
  • Make others aware of any actions they may be undertaking that are causing discomfort or distress to individuals.
  • Support individuals to minimise pain or discomfort.
  • Support the individual to maintain their identity and self-esteem.
  • Support the individual using person centred values.


STANDARD 6 – Communication

  • Understand the importance of effective communication at work.
  • Understand how to meet the communication and language needs, wishes and preferences of individuals.
  • Understand how to promote effective communication.
  • Understand the principles and practices relating to confidentiality.
  • Use appropriate verbal and non-verbal communication.
  • Support the use of appropriate communication aids/ technologies.


STANDARD 7 – Privacy and Dignity

  • Understand the principles that underpin privacy and dignity in care.
  • Maintain the privacy and dignity of the individual(s) in their care
    Support an individual’s right to make choices.
  • Support individuals in making choices about their care.
  • Understand how to support active participation.
  • Support the individual in active participation in their own care.


STANDARD 8 – Fluids and nutrition

  • Understand the principles of hydration, nutrition and food safety
    Support individuals to have access to fluids in accordance with their plan of care.
  • Support individuals to have access to food and nutrition in accordance with their plan of care.


STANDARD 9 – Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disability

  • Understand the needs and experiences of people with mental health conditions, dementia or learning disabilities.
  • Understand the importance of promoting positive health and wellbeing for an individual who may have a mental health condition, dementia or learning disability.
  • Understand the adjustments which may be necessary in care delivery relating to an individual who may have a mental health condition, dementia or learning disability.
  • Understand the importance of early detection of mental health conditions, dementia and learning disabilities.
  • Understand legal frameworks, policy and guidelines relating to mental health conditions, dementia and learning disabilities.
  • Understand the meaning of mental capacity in relation to how care is provided.


STANDARD 10 – Safeguarding Adults

  • Understand the principles of Safeguarding adults.
  • Reduce the likelihood of abuse.
  • Respond to suspected or disclosed abuse.
  • Protect people from harm and abuse – locally and nationally.


STANDARD 11 – Safeguarding children

  • Safeguard children.


STANDARD 12 – Basic Life Support

  • Provide basic life support.


STANDARD 13 – Health & Safety

  • Understand their own responsibilities, and the responsibilities of others, relating to health and safety in the work setting.
  • Understand Risk Assessment.
    Move and assist safely.
  • Understand procedures for responding to accidents and sudden illness.
  • Understand medication and healthcare tasks.
  • Handle hazardous substances.
  • Promote fire safety.
  • Work securely.
  • Manage stress.


STANDARD 14 – Handling Information

  • Handle information.


STANDARD 15 – Infection prevention and control

  • Prevent the spread of infection.


Get A Free Callback

11 + 2 =

Contact Us

01483 799263

Astor Care & Nursing Agency,
The Lansbury Estate,
102 Lower Guildford Road,
GU21 2EP.

Care Quality Commission


Induction Training
4.9 (98%) 10 votes